Barracuda Challenger Forum

Author Topic: Solid lifter vs. Hydraulic - Pros and Cons  (Read 1358 times)

Offline Glennster

Solid lifter vs. Hydraulic - Pros and Cons
« on: August 08, 2009 - 07:51:21 AM »
Looks like I may have found a motor, a 340 stroked to 416. It currently has a big solid lifter cam that makes the engine real choppy. I'm having the guy put a short duration cam in that will tame this thing down and get me more to a lopey instead of choppy idle.
 This is going to be used mostly on the street, I would like to go to the strip for the occasional Friday Night Test & Tune.

What are the big differences between solid and hydraulic, will I need to be adjusting valves all the time?
How hard is it to make the adjustments.
Is there a cost difference if I ask him to take me from solid to hydraulic?
 Please forgive my ignorance on this stuff, I'm just starting to learn about this stuff. The learning curve is pretty steep for me......

Cuda-Challenger.com

Solid lifter vs. Hydraulic - Pros and Cons
« on: August 08, 2009 - 07:51:21 AM »

Online Oldschool

• Administrator
  • Permanent Resident
  • Member Since 9-05-06
Re: Solid lifter vs. Hydraulic - Pros and Cons
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2009 - 08:56:01 AM »
The hydraulics would be great for a mild-moderate performance build.  They are dependable and very low maintenance, but they don't make the same power in the upper rpm range as the solids do.  As far as maintenance on the solids, once you set the valve lash, if your locks don't loosen up for some reason, they will hold for a very long time.  I have a buddy that is running a roller set up in his 416 on the street and he only checks the lash in the spring before cruising/dragstrip season.  Not because they need it, but because he just wants to check and make sure.