Barracuda Challenger Forum

Author Topic: A-518 torque converter issue  (Read 2002 times)

Offline EFI-Cuda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • 1974 Cuda 408
A-518 torque converter issue
« on: December 21, 2003 - 07:11:08 PM »
I purchased a mopar A-518 tranny new from the Mopar catalogue and I have been running it in my Cuda successfully for quite a while.  I am using a mopar 1900-2100 stall converter and I suspect that it is the reason for my horrible gas mileage.  (8 in the city and 11 on the highway)   I have a mild 360, a 625 Barry Grant road Demon with vacuume secondaries and 3.23 rear gears.   Most of my driving is below 2500 RPM's and I suspect that the converter's stall speed is too high and the converter is not engaged fully during most of my driving.   Does anyone else have any experience running an overdrive A-518 in an e-body?
Cuda 408, Ford EFI, Magnum heads, Vortech V-2 Si-Trim, A-518 transmission and 3.23 gears.

Cuda-Challenger.com

A-518 torque converter issue
« on: December 21, 2003 - 07:11:08 PM »



Offline DodgeFreak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1887
  • Cars and trucks are my friends..
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2003 - 07:07:09 PM »
i have a write up on how to get your lock up to work if i get time to scan\send it to you if you want it.

Edit: they put the A518 in a road runner.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2003 - 07:07:45 PM by DodgeFreak »
74 Plymouth Duster- restoring

77 Dodge D150 shortbox- as long as i don't change my mind will be a step side dually diesel or a 383 powered truck

04 durango 4.7

Offline EFI-Cuda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • 1974 Cuda 408
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2003 - 07:39:43 PM »
Thanks for the response.   The A-518 that is sold from MP is a non-lock-up transmission.  It uses just one button to switch the transmission into overdrive.   Most of the production A-518's had lock-up converters that were controlled by the vehicle's computer.   It is possible for these transmissions to be rigged up to engage the lock-up converter with a toggle switch in addition to a switch to shift the trans into overdrive.

Is the article that you are referring to about a non-lock up transmission or a lock-up A-518?
Cuda 408, Ford EFI, Magnum heads, Vortech V-2 Si-Trim, A-518 transmission and 3.23 gears.

Offline DodgeFreak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1887
  • Cars and trucks are my friends..
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2003 - 04:14:08 PM »
It was for the lock up 518....it told how to get it to lock with out a toggle switch.  But since you don't have the lock up then...it won't help you.
74 Plymouth Duster- restoring

77 Dodge D150 shortbox- as long as i don't change my mind will be a step side dually diesel or a 383 powered truck

04 durango 4.7

Offline oldvamoparfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 433
  • MOPAR; The only way to go!!!!!!!
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2004 - 12:11:19 AM »
If you are using a lock up Converter, you can wire 2 relays in the lockup switch lead so that application of the brake,'releasing lock up so you dont have to manually unlock each time you stop.  The reason for 2 relays is you have to have a "hold" lead to be able to do this.   Ovmf
'72 Challenger 360,'05 Dakota,  04 Town & Country, '82 Yamaha 650 Maxim

Offline Chryco Psycho

  • Global Moderator
  • C-C.com Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 32411
  • 70 Challenger R/T SE 70 tube Chassis Cuda now sold
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2004 - 02:24:23 AM »
I would switch to 3.55 or 3.91 rear gears , you will still have very low RPM on the highway

Offline Wheels

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2004 - 09:03:22 PM »
Im in the process of getting my 360/727 combo worked out...  How much does the 518 trans cost and how difficult was it to install?  
Would you do it again?

Thx.

Offline oldvamoparfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 433
  • MOPAR; The only way to go!!!!!!!
Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2004 - 09:40:23 AM »
It is possible to gear too high (low numerically) to suit your engine, depending on its state of tune.  Most cars get their best fuel economy while running in the fat part of their torque curve.  On the limited info I have, I would think 2500 should be pretty good for mpg. This can vary widely according to cam etc. I had a Dodge w/ 400 ci eng that only got 13.5 when running 55 to 60 mph, but got 16.5 running 75.  I verified this several times. It had 2.71 gears & 15' wheels.  Also, average throttle position has a large effect on mpg, but I know that none of you guys run you cars hard.  (HEE-HEE!!!)
'72 Challenger 360,'05 Dakota,  04 Town & Country, '82 Yamaha 650 Maxim

Cuda-Challenger.com

Re:A-518 torque converter issue
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2004 - 09:40:23 AM »