Author Topic: Hello from Birmingham, AL  (Read 1113 times)

Offline Gregor1

Hello from Birmingham, AL
« on: February 15, 2019 - 09:46:26 AM »
Hello all.  I am a Newb to the MOPAR world, love the family atmosphere so far.  What led me here was a mentor of mine is trying to find his old 1971 Challenger.  After researching these cars and discovering  other classic MOPAR models, I have to admit my allegiance is shifting from classic Corvettes to these classic MOPAR muscle cars! One question I have, and forgive me if it is a stupid question, is there a way to find all the VIN numbers for 1971 Challenger Convertibles produced.  I know in the Corvette world  it is impossible.  I am looking for a 1971 Challenger convertible 318 auto, V2 orange.  I figure there cannot be that many out there due to the low production number.  Any help, advise or guidance to additional resources would be greatly appreciated.     

Thanks

Greg

Offline 70chall440

• Sr. Resident
Re: Hello from Birmingham, AL
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019 - 12:23:28 PM »
welcome from WA state.

2 different worlds; Corvettes and Mopars but then again many similarities in some cases.

Reference you question, no I do not believe (am very sure) that there is if VINs for 71 Convertible Challengers (or pretty much any Mopars except perhaps some of the specialty cars like the Hurst A bodies, Daytona's and perhaps Superbird's). There may be a registry someplace which might have assembled some list but it is doubtful it will be complete or comprehensive. Back in the day, Mopar (Chrysler) didn't care about keeping the records or recording what was what. Likewise the cars are not sequential generally so you cannot deduce a VIN. What you can determine with relative accuracy is how many were made.
Current Mopar
70 Challenger RT 440-6 EFI, 73 Cuda 416-6 EFI
05 Hemi Durango, 01 Ram 4x4, 14 Ram 2500 4X4, 10 PCP Challenger 6 spd RT, 01 Viper GTS ACR, 52 B3B w/330 Desoto Hemi, 70 Hemi RR (under const)
Past Mopars