Author Topic: some questions on a 340 challenger  (Read 10956 times)

Offline Chryco Psycho

• Administrator
  • C-C.com Guru
  • 70 Challenger R/T SE 70 tube Chassis Cuda now sold
Re: some questions on a 340 challenger
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2008 - 10:27:25 PM »
factory single plane ?

Challenger - You`ll wish You Hadn`t

Offline 71chally416

• Resident
    • The Streetwalker
« Reply #16 on: July 14, 2008 - 02:15:43 AM »
The "M-1" that MP sells. It's probably more $$$ than the Victor though but is just as good. Definately DON'T use the old ED single plane manifolds like the old Torquer. They were horrendous and the prices they sell for used reflect that. I think they have a newer better design now but I have no experience with that.

And generally speaking about SB Mope intakes, the old dual plane LD340 is only 5hp off of the Performer RPM and has bigger internal passages. It's a very good Intake for being an old design and it has a heat crossover for those that drive in cold weather that can be blocked in the summer. If you're building a motor from scratch and you can pick one up for $50/75 at a swap meet (that doesn't have stripped out threads) I would say to buy it and invest the $150~ you saved not buying the RPM on something else that gives you more than that 5hp you lose vs. the RPM. A cam & lifters for instance or a better carb. You can even paint it and have it look like a stocker. It works a hell of a lot better than it looks!
Once we had Ronald Reagan, Bob Hope & Johnny Cash. Now we have Obama, No Hope and No Cash!

Offline PlumCrazyChris

• Mopar Muscle Cars of Austin
« Reply #17 on: September 15, 2008 - 09:48:33 PM »