Cuda-Challenger.com

Chryco's Tech Shop => Electrical => Topic started by: money pit on April 20, 2017 - 11:00:07 PM

Title: No stop light on the right side
Post by: money pit on April 20, 2017 - 11:00:07 PM
On my 73 challenger my right side brake light is out. I changed the bulb, no luck. Do both brake lights get the power from the same source? I looked at a wiring diagram but got more confused. Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: 1 Wild R/T on April 20, 2017 - 11:26:34 PM
Turn signal switch.... Try wiggling the lever...  Do both turn signals work? hazard flashers?
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: cudamadd on April 21, 2017 - 12:27:56 AM
Have you checked for a bad earth .? Used a test light ?
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: money pit on April 21, 2017 - 12:41:32 AM
I replaced the turn signal switch. flashers work and the turn signals work. the ground seems to be good. I'll check the wiring next. Thanks.
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: cudamadd on April 21, 2017 - 06:24:59 AM
IF its your brake light that is not working ,it won't be the turn singal switch . Do your tail lights work ? IF so power is not the problem .But you could have a broken wire on one side .All the best let us know how you go
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: Katfish on April 21, 2017 - 06:31:25 AM
Could be TS, my was bad and brake light didn't work.

(http://i909.photobucket.com/albums/ac294/sublime/Car/Electrical/ColumnWiringTest_zps072fd653.jpg) (http://s909.photobucket.com/user/sublime/media/Car/Electrical/ColumnWiringTest_zps072fd653.jpg.html)
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: xtopfuel on April 21, 2017 - 06:37:37 AM
I have a similar issue with my 72, no tail lights, no right side brake light, dim turn signals, I know my IVR is bad and just received from RTE will try to get to Monday, if I find the culprit I will post for you
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: money pit on April 21, 2017 - 11:34:16 AM
All the tail lights and side markers work. let me double check to see if the right rear turn signal works. Thanks.
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: 1 Wild R/T on April 21, 2017 - 11:52:50 AM
IF its your brake light that is not working ,it won't be the turn singal switch . Do your tail lights work ? IF so power is not the problem .But you could have a broken wire on one side .All the best let us know how you go

Clearly you aren't well versed in automotive electrical circuits.... If your gonna provide completely wrong info perhaps you should be posting in a thread about cats...... :roflsmiley:
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: 4Cruizn on April 21, 2017 - 12:37:50 PM
I have a similar issue with my 72, no tail lights, no right side brake light, dim turn signals, I know my IVR is bad and just received from RTE will try to get to Monday, if I find the culprit I will post for you

Your issue sounds like "bad earth" as stated before in this thread.  IMO  :wave:
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: 1 Wild R/T on April 21, 2017 - 01:39:58 PM
Your issue sounds like "bad earth" as stated before in this thread.  IMO  :wave:

I Agree
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: money pit on April 21, 2017 - 05:27:02 PM
I double checked all the lights. Both tail lights work, R & L turn signals work, the l brake light works, both Hazards work, both side markers, back up, and license plate lights work. I tried another ground, no luck. When you talk about a bad turn signal switch, are you refering to the piece that includes the hazard switch? Thanks
Title: Re: No stop light on the right side
Post by: 1 Wild R/T on April 21, 2017 - 05:44:31 PM
I double checked all the lights. Both tail lights work, R & L turn signals work, the l brake light works, both Hazards work, both side markers, back up, and license plate lights work. I tried another ground, no luck. When you talk about a bad turn signal switch, are you refering to the piece that includes the hazard switch? Thanks

Yup... And the quick easy test id just plug one in, don't unbolt anything just unplug the original & plug in another one... FWIW at this point I'm pretty confident it's the switch... Don't buy a aftermarket switch they aren't nearly as good quality wise as OE....   Call Dave @ Roseville