Cuda-Challenger.com

Chryco's Tech Shop => Interior and Gauges => Topic started by: Plum70Dodge on February 19, 2021 - 02:32:37 PM

Title: Anyone mount a tach to your console ?
Post by: Plum70Dodge on February 19, 2021 - 02:32:37 PM
What size? What kind of mount did you use? Pics?
Title: Re: Anyone mount a tach to your console ?
Post by: 70chall440 on February 19, 2021 - 07:08:49 PM
I am sure someone has done it but its not a great idea for several reasons; first being on the console is exceptionally difficult to see especially if you are getting on it, second is that the cost of replacement consoles makes the idea of drilling a hole or holes into one not very appealing.

All this said, over the years i have mounted them in several places on E bodies;

- the classic steering column mount
- I mounted an autometer tach in the far right corner of the instrument cluster area (outside of the cluster, under the light bar) on a Cuda. That worked pretty well
- I have a hood tach (factory Direct Connection unit) on a car for a little while, I really like it for using it for power shifting because it is directly in the line of sight, down side is that I never did like the way they looked on the car.
Title: Re: Anyone mount a tach to your console ?
Post by: Plum70Dodge on February 20, 2021 - 12:55:37 AM
I'm considering trying g to utilize the two foremost screws on the console plate.
If that doesnt work out maybe replacing g the center speaker grille with a filler panel and mounting it front and center.
 
Title: Re: Anyone mount a tach to your console ?
Post by: 70chall440 on February 20, 2021 - 01:24:06 PM
I am assuming you have a non rallye cluster, if so I think someone makes a tach for the non rallye cluster
Title: Re: Anyone mount a tach to your console ?
Post by: jimynick on February 20, 2021 - 09:42:15 PM
And, although General Motors seemed to like that placement, at the end of the day, you've got to take your eyes off the road, find the tach, focus and realize what it's showing you, AND make driving decisions based on off- road observations. Not a really good situation when you're involved in that situation where the rpm is a serious factor. there's a reason why drag racers don't put their tachs down on the console and I wonder what your actual reason is for doing it, other than simply displaying a tach in that position.  Put the tach where the hell you want, but if using it to make driving decisions, then consider putting it where it'll do the most good, and that isn't down on the console. BUT, it's your car and your call when all's said and done.  :cheers: