Author Topic: ShelbyDogg's 72 Cuda  (Read 28837 times)

Offline ShelbyDogg

• Sr. Resident
Re: ShelbyDogg's 72 Cuda
« Reply #75 on: January 24, 2016 - 01:03:05 PM »
I'm working on getting my cheap 5.7 together and buying parts to get it running on my run stand.
I have it on my engine stand right now, flipped over, pan off so I can decide on pulling the crank to drill the end for a bushing or just deepen it.

The Manifold assembly that I bought was missing the Oil Filler top. I didn't see it in the pic since I'm new to G3s. The guy refunded me half because he is a Mopar guy too. I can try to patch it or use it for mock-up. Still have the spare TBI, rails and injectors. I found another one for $75 shipped.

I'm converting my drive-by-wire throttle body to a manual cable driven one.
I found these on Ebay; A splined short shaft and and a 5/16 splined arm, used for dual carb linkages. Also bought a cable end for my longer gas pedal cable.

This shaft gets welded on to the end with rapid cooling involved. There are some plastic components on this shaft.

Drilled a hole to accept the shaft. I'll have to put a lip seal inside the cover to keep water and dirt out, since my Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) is inside.
I might shorten the shaft before final welding. I still have to fab a cable bracket on the manifold to position everything.

The motor is still inside but just going along for the ride. The same plug is used but only for the 3 pins for the TPS signal. I need to find a plug in case I build my own Ignition and EFI, instead of using the Megasquirt system above. That MS3 still seems to be the cheapeast and best system to use.

Stay tuned.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2016 - 02:47:59 PM by ShelbyDogg »
Rob

3 E-bodies, Megasquirt-1v3.0, Edelbrock Pro-Flo-1, Holley C950, FAST EZ-EFI; say no to carbs...yes to throttle bodies

My Pace Car restoration thread:
http://www.cuda-challenger.com/cc/index.php?topic=44869.0

Offline ShelbyDogg

• Sr. Resident